Wednesday, 4 April 2012

Golden Kela Awards honour Imran, Deepika, ‘Aarakshan’

Imran Khan and Deepika Padukone have won the Worst Actor and Worst Actress respectively at the annual Golden Khela Awards held in Mumbai on Sunday.
Modelled on Hollywood’s Golden Raspberry Awards ceremony, the Golden Kela’s recognizes the worst in Bollywood cinema.
It is a not insignificant blow to the perennially charming and normally talented young Khan who won the award for ‘Mere Brother Ki Dulhan’ whilst the perennially wooden Padukone won for her performance in ‘Aarakshan’.
Shah Rukh Khan’s cataclysmically dreadful Ra.One won two trophies; for Worst Film and Worst Director for Anubhav Sinha.
The award for the Most Atrocious Lyric went to Amitabh Bhattacharyya for "Pyar do pyar lo ("Thank You"), "Jigar ka tukda" ("Ladies vs Ricky Bahl"), and "Mutton" song ("Luv Ka The End").
"Teri meri" from "Bodyguard" was named Most Irritating Song.
Another multi-award winner on the night was the newly mononymous Prateik (why?) who was crowned Worst Supporting Actor award for ‘Dum Maaro Dum’ and ‘Aarakshan’.
A special Platinum Kela award was however given to filmmaker Kanti Shah for excellence in cinema.
"I'm feeling good at being invited at the event. It's special because its been organised by true fans of my style of movie-making. I have been to other award shows as well, but this definitely is special being solely driven by fans of my movies," said Shah, on receiving the award.
Actor Pankaj Kapoor's maiden directorial venture "Mausam" received the night’s special ‘Bawra Ho Gaya Ke’ (Have you gone completely bonkers?) award while in other acting categories Chirag Paswan won the Worst Debutante award for ‘Miley Na Miley Hum’ and Esha Deol won the award for Worst Attempt at a Comeback for the appropriately titled ‘Tell Me O Kkhuda’.
The Lajja award for worst treatment of a serious issue went to "Aarakshan".
Some 700,000 fans voted to choose the winners in each of the categories at this year’s event.
-    Staff Reporter.  Edited by Vijitha Alles.

No comments:

Post a Comment